Rotary Club of Somerville, MA Installs Elected Leadership


The Somerville Rotary Club is proud to announce the installation of its new officers and directors for the upcoming Rotary year that started July 1st. The club recently met at the Holiday Inn for an evening of awards and leadership recognition.


Outgoing president Sylvia Walker spoke of the state of the club and her excitement about the new Service Club Format that will hold its first meeting in July. Sylvia was presented with her new Past President pen, an embossed rocking chair, and an embossed gravel.


The evening concluded with the installation of its 2016-17 Officers including: President Ryan Burkart, President Elect Brian Rooney, Secretary Gilda Nogueira, and Treasurer Jennison Wallace. 2016-17 Board of Directors included: Mark Alston-Follansbee, Jessica Brayden, Anthony Pierantozzi, Brian Rooney, Jeannie Scarpa, Sylvia Walker, and Jenison Wallace.


Newly installed Club President Ryan Burkart, general manager of the Holiday Inn, commented, “It is an honor to represent the Rotary Club of Somerville as President. I look forward to the upcoming year of projects, the new service club branch and celebrating 100 years of Rotary Foundation. The dedication and generosity of our club is overwhelming and I am excited to sustain, grow and “do good in the world” during the upcoming year and beyond.”


As her final acts as President, Sylvia Walker presented a Service Above Self Pen to member Ann Kirby for her exemplary years of service to the club and to Rotary Foundation. Jessica Brayden, outgoing Treasurer, and Ryan Burkart, outgoing President elect, were presented with gifts of recognition as were outgoing Board Members Ann Kirby, Nancy Kavanagh, and Eugene Ferraro.  


For more information about or how to join the Rotary Club of Somerville, please visit or


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.